Distinguished Alumni Award

The Distinguished Alumni award was established in recognition of extraordinary professional achievement and community service.
Peter Holsten '67
Courage, compassion and self-reliance are three of Fountain Valley School’s core values that Holsten has lived for 42 years on his mission to develop and provide affordable housing to his community and fellow citizens in Chicago. Utilizing public and private partnerships, Holsten and his wife, Jackie, have changed the lives of Chicagoans for generations to come.

Will Nicholson '44
Nicholson was one of the strongest and most influential figures in golf in Colorado and the United States. He served as president of the United States Golf Association in 1980 and 1981 after 11 years on the USGA Executive Committee. He also played a key role in the Master’s Tournament at Augusta National Golf Club.

John Perry Barlow '65 P '00
Lyricist for the Grateful dead, retired Wyoming cattle rancher and cyberlibertarian activist; cofounded Electronic Frontier Foundation, an organization that protects civil liberties in the digital world

Barry Brown '69
More than 20 years at Southwest Airlines where he has been instrumental in the company’s growth and prosperity through tumultuous times in the airline industry. As associate general counsel, he is the go-to for interfaces with the federal government. After September 11, Brown created Southwest’s first Safety and Environmental Department.

No award given

Laura Williams '87 (Cornell University)
International environmental conservation, primarily in Russia; set up the first office of the World Wildlife Fund in Russia


Dr. Dan Tyler '51 (Harvard University B.A., Colorado State University M.A., University of New Mexico, Phd.)
Air Force jet instructor, banker, rancher, water rights expert, educator and author

Dr. Michael Patterson '75 (Yale University, University of Colorado Medical School)
Medical career in both the military and private practice (pediatrician)

Dr. Jonathan Ormes '57 (Stanford University B.A., University of Minnesota PhD.)
NASA scientist, former director of space sciences at the Goddard Space Flight Center innovator, professor and author

Dr. Stephen Low '45 (Yale University B.A., Tufts University M.A., PhD.)
Foreign Services Officer with the Department of State, ambassador to Zambia and Nigeria, director of the Foreign Service Institute, director of Johns Hopkins University School of Advanced International Studies' Bologna Center; president of the Association for Diplomatic Studies and Training

Bill Mullin '49 (University of Colorado, Pepperdine University MBA)
Entrepreneur, Taco Bill Inc., philanthropist

Ed Sherin '48 (Brown University A.B.)
Television, film and stage producer and director; notably known for "Law & Order," for which he received an Emmy

Founders' Living the Mission Award at the School's 75th Anniversary Celebration presented to Chuck Emery '38, Samuel Silverstein '54, Arthur Davidson '62, Stefano Bertozzi '77 and Jolene Lane '79

R. Thayer Tutt '73 (Princeton University B.A., Duke University MBA)
President and CIO of El Pomar Foundation in Colorado Springs

Dr. Belding Scribner '37 (University of California, Stanford University Medical School, University of Minnesota)
Pioneer in kidney dialysis

James Briggs McClatchy '38 (A.B. Stanford University, Columbia University's Graduate School of Journalism M.S.)
Publisher, The McClatchy Company, newspaper reporter/editor

Sam Goldwyn Jr. '43 (University of Virginia)
Legendary movie producer

6155 Fountain Valley School Road, Colorado Springs, CO 80911