Dominique Dunne Film Competition

2015 Winners

2015 Winners

Students from Agoura High School in California and Ballard High School in Washington collected the top prizes in the 2015 Dominique Dunne High School Film Competition, sponsored by Fountain Valley School of Colorado. 

The Dominique Dunne Film Competition began at FVS in 1967 and was resurrected in 2011 after a seven-year hiatus. Winning films were screened in a gala at the FVS Performing Arts Center on Saturday, May 2.
First place in the dramatic category went to Peter France of Agoura High School for "Due or Die." France's effects-laden short film juxtaposed an alien invasion with a student's desperate need to turn in a term paper.

Duncan Gowdy of Ballard High School won the top award in the documentary category for "Clipped Wings," a portrait of a Boy Scout and Eagle Scout candidate who appreciates all that the Scouts have given to him while he struggles with his homosexuality. 

Dramatic Category Winners

First Place: “Due or Die” by Peter France of Agoura High School in Agoura Hills, Calif. ($300 prize)

Second Place: “Everything Can Dream" by John Everitt '16 of Fountain Valley School in Colorado Springs, Colo. ($100 prize)

Honorable Mention: "Stolen" by Coleman Anders of Ballard High School in Seattle, Wash. ($50 prize)

Documentary Category Winner

First Place: “Clipped Wings" by Duncan Gowdy of Ballard High School in Seattle, Wash. ($300 prize)

Second Place: "Raven Rock" by Meagen Tajalle of Ballard High School in Seattle, Wash. ($100 prize)

Honorable Mention: "St. Francis" by Adam Karp of Agoura High School in Agoura, Calif. ($50 prize)

About the Competition
The Dominique Dunne Film Competition was the country's first high school-sponsored showcase for young filmmakers. Originally called the FVS Film Festival, it was renamed after the death of Dominique, a promising actress and 1977 FVS graduate. This year, there were 22 entries.

Judges and Advisory Board
This year’s judges were Linda Broker, executive director of the Rocky Mountain Women's Film Festival; Kathleen Broyles, program director at Milagro at Los Luceros and longtime association with Sundance; Warren Epstein, former entertainment editor at the Colorado Springs Gazette; and John Simons, film professor at Colorado College.

The award-winning films were sent to members of the competition’s Advisory Board, consisting of internationally known film and television veterans: Griffin Dunne '74, John Goldwyn '76, Tony Goldwyn '78 and Ed Sherin '48.

For more information about the Dominique Dunne Film Competition, including a biography of Dominique,
6155 Fountain Valley School Road, Colorado Springs, CO 80911